veggie life: the abc of recipes

veggie life

When I first moved out of home all those years ago, my greatest culinary accomplishment was having mastered the ability to not always burn toast and apply just the right amount of Vegemite (Aussies will understand this… there’s a reason non-locals turn their nose up at the delicious vitamin B12 rich spread and it’s due entirely to over application). Not to mention my famous incident of ‘but how do I prepare a cucumber??’

Since that time I progressively improved out of necessity and lamentation at the thought of another dinner consisting of steamed frozen broccoli. Now I wouldn’t consider myself a Masterchef contender by any stretch, but I fancy myself to be a very good and rather creative cook when it comes to vegetarian cuisine (not to mention baking, which is where my interest and strength has always been – indeed while my fridge was often empty, I had a dedicated pantry full of baking supplies and utensils).

That being said, I haven’t had much opportunity to cook lately what with renovations and mini-getaways and am now rather excited to try my hand at a whole array of delicious and healthy meals. This will be further enhanced by the fact that Sky Living is now airing repeats of My Kitchen Rules Australia (a much loved cooking show rife with poorly made risottos and endless bitchiness), which I love to have on in the background while I cook.

Paul will be of precisely zero assistance in this matter despite claims that once taught he’ll rival Gordon Ramsay because he still requires supervision when chopping tomatoes.

Given my current desire to whip up a veggie storm in the kitchen, I’ve been perusing many a food blog to uncover delicious ideas. Far be it for me to not share these with the universe (or the people reading my blog, in any case) so I’ve collated an A-Z list of recipes sourced from other, much more infinitely skilled cooks. Some of these are staples that I love to cook anyway, and I’ve sourced recipes for them (because I tend to make my quantities up as I go) and others are on my to-do list.

Avocado and Sweet Corn Wraps – This Rawsome Vegan Life

Buckwheat and Tomato Stuffed Zucchini – Naturally Ella                                         

Cauliflower and Chickpea Coconut Curry – oh my veggies! (see below)cauliflower_and_chickpea_coconut_curry_recipe

Deluxe Macaroni ‘N’ Tease – My New Roots

Everyday Pad Thai – Post Punk Kitchen

Funky Green Tacos – Earthy Feast

Green Lentil Soup with Curried Brown Butter – 101 Cookbooks

Halloumi Salad with Balsamic Tomatoes – Tinned Tomatoes

Indian Sweet Potato and Dhal Pies – BBC Good Food

Jamaican Red Beans and Rice – Skinny Taste

Kale salad with avocado tahini sauce – love & lemons

Lebanese Chickpea Falafels – Archana’s Kitchen

Moroccan Vegetable Tagine – green kitchen stories

Nacho Cheese Kale Chips – The Roasted Root

One Pan Penne and Broccoli ifoodreal

Pesto Veggie Melts – Sprouted Kitchen

Quick Indian Pancakes with Spiced Potato Filling – The Veg Space

Roasted Pumpkin Quinoa Salad – veggie num num

Spicy Sweet Potato and Green Rice Burrito Bowls – COOKIE+kate (see below)

simple-sweet-potato-green-rice-burrito-bowls

Teriyaki Eggplant with Herbed Cahew and Coconut Rice – The First Mess

Ultimate Veggie Burgers – Veggie Runners

Vegetarian Pho – Happyolks

Wholewheat Gnocchi with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce – Cookin’ Canuck

Yellow Tomato Gazpacho with Cilantro Oil and Avocado – bon appetit

Zucchini Noodles with Sesame Peanut Sauce – Fat Free Vegan

Leave a Reply

